How to transfer or import Google Chrome bookmarks to a new computer

SIDEBAR: A TECH-TIP from DJ Adrian? No way…

Well, this info proved to be impossible for me to find, so I discovered my own solution and it worked! Since I figured I couldn’t be the only one having this issue, I thought I’d post the solution here for permanent reference.

Here’s the scoop:

I had a laptop with Chrome and a ton of bookmarks that I wanted to still have access to when it went down.

Luckily, I was able to get the HD out and mount it in a box that could be USB’d to my new laptop, but even if I couldn’t have, I could have gotten it off a backup file previously taken. Anyway…

The problem was where the heck the file was. Intuition tells you to, in XP, go to the Programs file on your C drive and it should be easy to find, but alas, no. The entire Chrome operation was nowhere to be found.

So what I did was plug in the old HD and right-click on the old desktop shortcut that I used to open Chrome. Then I selected “Properties”. This told me where the shortcut was going to open the application.

It turned out to be in My Computer/Local Disc C/ Documents and Settings/

Click on YOUR username’s folder.

Then, you will NOT likely see the file you are after, which is called Local Settings, so what you do is go up to Tools/Folder Options/ View and select “Show Hidden Files & Folders” and Apply.

Once you have done this, you will see Local Settings… click it and then click Application Data.

Once you are in there, click Google, then click Chrome. Then User Data, then Default.

INSIDE you will find a file called “Bookmarks” and also “Bookmarks.bak”

I dragged those off my (USB-attached, remember?) old hard drive and dropped them into the *exact same location* on my new computer’s drive (do the same steps above on the new computer to get there) and it will ask you if you want to replace the existing ones with the ones you are dragging. Say “yes”.

Now, open Chrome on your new computer and voila! the Bookmarks are there!

As Brian Wilson, the closer on the 2010 World Champion San Francisco Giants, would say, “you’re welcome!”

: )

NOTE: I am not a techno guy. If this process doesn’t work for you I am sorry… I tried. But I will not answer any tech-related questions pertaining to this, as I would probably be almost as lost as you are.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

